The week of an au-pair - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu The week of an au-pair - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu

The week of an au-pair

Door: Ashley

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ashley

15 April 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Hastings-on-Hudson

The last week was a week full of nice activities. Most of the time I know the night before what I want to do for the day after. But there are also days that the girls come up with something that is more interesting that I decide to do.
Tuesday was an easy day.. In the morning we spend a lot of time with having a bath. They can play for hours if they could, nice to see and a very nice activity to do! In the afternoon after the rest I wanted to look for a park in the neighborhood with the girls. It’s very big climb and when we arrived it was not that nice as we thought before. But it’s nice that the girls like to walk because that’s my way to found out what there is to do..

The Wednesday we spend a lot of time in the playground near by the supermarket. It’s nice to have something else to do in the neighborhood for the girls. This time there where a bit more children than last time and the girls where in the beginning a little shy but later it went better. A few minutes later a woman and a girl talked to me. If I was an au pair because that seemed to. So this was really the real first conversation I had with ‘strangers’. And I could only think; say the right things, in the right centers etc. So funny. That kind of conversations are perfect to learn from!

Thursday was our weekly trip to the library. Again a perfect activity with nice songs, music and instruments. There where more children than last week but still good. Angela and Isabel are really the biggest ones, especially Isabel. In the end I asked the teacher if it was oke by her that Isabel is still in the age group of 1-3. But she said very happy to be with Isabel because she is really the example for all the little children. If Isabel would go to the age group of 3-5 she has to go without me and that would be a problem we guess.
Together with Aleksandra I’m looking for a other nice weekly activity in the town or nearby. Like a dancing class, music, gymnastics lesson. The girls will love that!

Friday we went out to a shop in around the corner to buy 2 cards. 1 for the birthday from their grandfather from Macedonia and 1 for their aunt who knows now that they are expecting a little baby girl. So we bought 2 beautiful cards and once home, they started immediately to make nice paintings for them. With lunch-time I had some free time, so I really wanted to go to the supermarket by my own. When I take the girls with me I’m too busy with them. So I found the things that I needed and a lot more ;). I’m still surprised by all those things they are selling in a supermarket.
After the nap of the girls I went together with them and Aleksandra to the Marshall’s shoe shop. The girls needed new shoes and if you don’t want to spend a lot of money on good shoes you have to go there. And I really got crazy! Aleksandra said to me that everything I liked I could take and we’ll just look if those would fit. So in less than 5 minutes I collected more than 6 pairs of shoes ;). After the shoe-shop we went to Carter’s, a child clothes shop. And again I couldn’t stop looking for all those little cute clothes. It’s almost better than shopping for myself!
We finished the day with a nice diner in Friday’s. And I’m so thankful that they are taking me through so much places.. Every day I see a lot more than I could ever expect before!

At Saturday I could stay in bed the morning so that was nice! After the lovely breakfast I had a few ‘skype-dates’ with both of my parents and a friend who is coming in less than 2 weeks. After lunch we went to New Jersey to take another car from the family that was still there. In New Jersey they spend the first months. So they also knew a very nice indoor play-ground! When we arrived there, there was a lot to see. They have all kind of area’s where you can play. Like a big boat, real cars and a mini airplane to play in, doctors, dentist, animal doctor, music, creative, train, supermarket and a ballet corner. Really nice and enough to play for hours! So a great experience!

Sunday morning I had to work because Pedro and Aleksandra had a driver-license information day for a few hours. And that Sunday morning was the first ‘Flea-market’ of the season in Hastings-on-Hudson. So we went there, but it was even smaller than I thought before. I hoped that there would something to do for the children as well but that was not. But the good thing that they do had, was a face-painter! So Isabel was immediately asking for a face-paint. She wanted to be a purple cat, and she was sitting so easy and quiet! Then I asked Angela if she wanted something on her face and she did. So the woman was painting a lovely Minnie-mouse on her! They were beautiful! But when I said that in the end of the day we have to wash it off, she was not that happy anymore ;). So instead of having a bath after the nap, we planned the bath after their dinner..

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ashley

Hallo, Via deze blog wil ik jullie op de hoogte houden van mijn belevenissen in the USA. Ik wil gaan proberen deze in het engels te gaan schrijven zodat ik mijn engels wat kan gaan verbeteren én zodat alle internationale ouders ook op de hoogte kunnen blijven ;). Groetjes Ashley Hello, In this way i would like to keep you updated about my adventures in the USA. I want to try to write this in english so i can develop my english. And it's a good way to inform all the international parents ;). Greetings Ashley

Actief sinds 25 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 64
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3410

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2014 - 21 Juni 2014

Living in the usa

Landen bezocht: