2 Months in the USA - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu 2 Months in the USA - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu

2 Months in the USA

Door: Ashley

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ashley

27 Mei 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Hastings-on-Hudson

We are enjoying the nice weather in here! It’s gives you such a nice feeling if you can leave the house without a jacket… Lovely! It’s everyday around 22 °C and days that it goes up to 27 °C.

We had a busy weekend the 10th of May and you can really see that the girls need their sleep after such a busy weekend. So the nice thing to be not on school of daycare for them, is that they have more time to take a nap or rest in house.
So when I’m thinking that they will be exhausted because of a activity and need a sleep for sure, then 1 of them is not… This time it was Isabel and in the end of the evening you could see she was tired. Then the Tuesday morning she woke up early, so I hoped for her that she could have her sleep in the afternoon. After 10 minutes she was gone and slept so good! So hopefully it was enough to have more happy moments ;).

With Angela we want to start slowly with the toilet training. Because we were home at Tuesday it was perfect for me to think the whole time about the toilet ;). Every time when the diaper was still dry, we went to the toilet. She is not saying when she wants to go so that makes it a lot more difficult and we are not sure if she is that ready. But I will have a start from now of on, to ask her to go after every meal to the toilet. If she doesn’t want it’s oke, and if she wants that’s even better of course.
Now a few days later, she’s is asking sometimes by herself! Unexpected and sometimes she does a pee and the other time not. But she is busy with it, so we give her all very much compliments when she does a pee and she loves it!

We had some very good news over here.. A while ago I posted a question on my facebook if somebody is interested to come over here like me for 3 months. Because after Marloes they are still looking for someone and the best will be if that would be a Dutch girl, so the girls can keep going on with their Dutch language!
A Korein colleague of me from a other location react on that question that she knew someone. But in the same time I had the feeling that she would be perfect for this job as well. In the meantime Aleksandra was already joking that if it would work out, I could start my own business with an agency ;).
So in the time that Aleksandra was in NL she had a little meeting with both of them together. And all of them were having a really good feeling after it.
By now the news is that my Korein colleague is almost sure that she has a ‘go’ from Korein and that she can come after Marloes, and the friend of her really want to come for 1 year thru an agency..
So we are all so happy with that news!!

At Sunday the 18th of May I went alone to Manhattan. This was the first time that I went all alone. I was totally not nervous, but I looked so much forward to it! To have the time by my own, to look in all the shops and to see more of Manhattan of course!
I went to SoHo because there were the most shops that I needed. My mission was most of all shopping for presents for the family. But after a few shops I still not bought what I wanted. So I decided to go with the subway to the beginning of 5th Ave. Later I went to Union Square and the Flatiron building who was amazing to see! And in the end I went to Times Square. I came by the M&M mega store and I needed to buy some special color M&M’s for my niece and of course I could not leave without some M&M’s for Isabel and Angela (they were very happy when I gave them ;)).
So in the end of the day my feet hurt and didn’t found the shoes for myself I looked for, didn’t bought all the presents but… I saw a lot! So with a smile on my face I left Manhattan to go by train to Hastings-on-Hudson.

Last week we were in a shop to buy a ‘tape-measure’. In the shop I explained what they were selling in the shop and the boy who was working there asked me in which language we were speaking. So I told him Dutch, and sometimes words in English to practice. He kept on looking and told them that they did a very good job. When I told him that they were speaking Spanish and Macedonia as well, he was so surprised and I said for 10 times that they were doing such a good job! Especially Isabel was smiling about it and then she whispered in my ear that she wanted to switch over in speaking English.. Haha I was laughing and you had to see the boy… They are doing such a good job! And I think we are all very proud about them!!

Monday the 26th it was Memorial day in here. Everyone is having a free day and it would be around 30°C. So Pedro and Aleksandra decided to go to a waterpark in the North of New York. It was a lovely day and the girls were having so much fun!

Days are going veeery fast by now! The next weekend of 30th of May my Dad will come already with his wife and my mom with her boyfriend! I’m looking very forward to it but I know that after that weekend my last weeks are coming…
For the weekend with my parents we have a nice planning already.
The Friday I will go with my dad and stepmom to the new 9/11 museum and afterwards we will go to Brooklyn.
At Saturday I will go with my mum and her boyfriend to Chelsea/Greenwich/High Line park and maybe the Public Library/Bryant Park.
For the Sunday we have still no plans because I saw already a lot. So if some of you parents have some suggestions…?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ashley

Hallo, Via deze blog wil ik jullie op de hoogte houden van mijn belevenissen in the USA. Ik wil gaan proberen deze in het engels te gaan schrijven zodat ik mijn engels wat kan gaan verbeteren én zodat alle internationale ouders ook op de hoogte kunnen blijven ;). Groetjes Ashley Hello, In this way i would like to keep you updated about my adventures in the USA. I want to try to write this in english so i can develop my english. And it's a good way to inform all the international parents ;). Greetings Ashley

Actief sinds 25 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 145
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3413

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2014 - 21 Juni 2014

Living in the usa

Landen bezocht: