Already 1 month in the USA! - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu Already 1 month in the USA! - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu

Already 1 month in the USA!

Door: Ashley

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ashley

25 April 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Hastings-on-Hudson

Monday morning we wanted to have an easy day because of the busy weekend. So I decided to have a look at the train station around the corner. It’s a really nice old, cozy station and very small. Together we looked at all the trains that were passing and we were singing songs about the train.
They were more excited than I expected, so that was nice!
After the nap we were still in the relaxed mood and we went to the supermarket to buy a lot of things. The girls love to shop with me and they are really helpful. They are carrying the food and trying to find the food that we need. Because some of the things are really taking a lot of time to find. Like dough for a meat pie (or something like that) for example, it’s not in the freeze like it’s in Holland. No it’s in the fridge by the butter. So that takes more time than I’m used to.
The last days I’m explaining Isabel that a friend of me (Lotte) is almost coming (this weekend) because for her it’s nice to know when something is changing. She doesn’t like surprises like Pedro and Aleksandra were telling me. So at 1 time she decided that she made a nice ‘Rapunzel’ for Lotte! Super sweet! And after a lot of ‘goed idea’s’ (like she is always saying with half Dutch/half Macedonia) she decided that we have to make a little party for Lotte!

Tuesday was again an easy day. They woke up normal but started late ;). After the fruit and breakfast we made a nice box voor their ‘Teta/Aunt’ that is pregnant and we went to the shop to buy some present paper. When we came there, we saw a change at the row’s where they are selling cards. There was 1 new row full of cards.. And only mother day cards! For all the mothers, grandmothers, mothers in law, from daughter to mother, from son to mother, from children to mother, a lot! In 2 minutes they were having both 2 cards that they liked but none of them they liked both…. So I had the good excuse that it was maybe too early to buy and that we will look another time. But from that moment Isabel kept asking when mother day is and when Lotte is coming. So I told her to make in the end of the day a nice calendar to write down all the important things that will happen.
So after their resting moment we made 1. The time that I will be here fitted perfectly on 1 page. We wrote down when Lotte is coming, when Mother day is, when I’m having a weekend off with my parents, when Father day is, when Marloes (old colleague that worked on the Nijlandlaan as well) will come to replace me and of course when my last day is. Now we need to know the days that Aleksandra is in Holland and will be away because of a business trip and then they both can see perfectly when everything will happen! When we finished Isabel seem to be happy with it and she kept pointing all the things that we wrote down. But I realized that 1 month is almost finished!! :(

The Wednesday morning Aleksandra took the girls out of bed. And I know now that when Aleksandra is taking care of them I just need to take a step back. So I can better wait till Aleksandra has to work and doing other things in that time. I decided to go to the playground, having some bagels and going in the afternoon to the supermarket. At the time we were ready to go, Angela asked Aleksandra and me to take her cuddle with her to the playground. And both of us were not agree with that point. In the car of home oke, but not somewhere else otherwise we will lose it or something like that. But it did not worked out… So Aleksandra left for a few minutes, I tried to fix the issue and in the end she agreed and putted her cuddle into her bed! So 10 minutes later we were ready to go. And when the girls saw that we went to the ‘old’ playground and not to the ‘new’ they asked why. And I explained that for now we didn’t had that much time and they understood. On the way back we bought some really nice bagels for lunchtime. They are in love with the bagels like me! Jum!
After their nap we went to the supermarket for a few things and to have a look what we wanted to bake for Lotte this Friday. Isabel chooses for blueberry muffins!
Thursday morning we had our weekly library activity. The girls were looking forward and me as well. Isabel was doing a great job.. At the time the woman was reading a book she was really saying the words that she was looking for! She is doing so good with the English language.. Even when the woman asked ‘what is this’ and Isabel answered with ‘kangaroo’ and the woman asked ‘can he jump?’ she was answering back like ‘yeah’ haha really on a American way!! I mean she could also say ‘ja’ what she is using when she is with me. So funny to notice! After ‘our’ nap we baked some really nice blueberry muffins for Lotte who is coming tomorrow. They are so nice that we are all not sure if we have enough for Lotte by the end of the day tomorrow ;). So Aleksandra was already saying that we can always go to the supermarket to bake more haha ;).
So tomorrow my weekend will start in the midday and I’m most of the time off. So that’s why I will finish this blog by now because my weekend will be without the kids. I’m looking very forward to meet Lotte to have a really nice weekend with doing a lot of things like seeing the statue of Liberty, the Brooklyn bridge, a part of central park, go to the Rockefeller and more ;).

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ashley

Hallo, Via deze blog wil ik jullie op de hoogte houden van mijn belevenissen in the USA. Ik wil gaan proberen deze in het engels te gaan schrijven zodat ik mijn engels wat kan gaan verbeteren én zodat alle internationale ouders ook op de hoogte kunnen blijven ;). Groetjes Ashley Hello, In this way i would like to keep you updated about my adventures in the USA. I want to try to write this in english so i can develop my english. And it's a good way to inform all the international parents ;). Greetings Ashley

Actief sinds 25 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 79
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3416

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2014 - 21 Juni 2014

Living in the usa

Landen bezocht: