Starting the countdown! - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu Starting the countdown! - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu

Starting the countdown!

Door: Ashley

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ashley

15 Juni 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Hastings-on-Hudson

Wauw what an amazing last weeks I had! I had my doubts to write something about my weekend in New York with my parents, but I mean, hey I’m in New York… Besides the lovely work I’m doing, I’m also enjoying the free moments!

My dad and my stepmom knew they would go to New York already before I knew that I would go to New York as well. They have a really nice trip that starts in Washington DC, goes up all the way to Canada and back. So they had also a stop from 4 days in New York in the same time as I would be there! :) How nice!

My mum and her boyfriend decided to visit New York city for 6 days because I would be there. So perfect to have 1 weekend with both of them!

Thursday evening the 29th of May, I went already with the train to the apartment were my mom and her boyfriend would stay. They are renting an apartment on the 2nd Ave at the Upper East Side. In the street there were a lot of restaurants, bars and shops. Very energetic area.

The Friday I went early to midtown because I would meet my dad and my stepmom! I met them in their hotel and we had breakfast in the street over there. Our first activity was the new museum of 9/11. It’s just opened since a few days and I was very curious how it would be.
When we came there I was already having goose bumps by the memorial.. Such a peaceful, calm and beautiful memorial with the water!
And the museum was sooo worth it! Really amazing, I was having goose bumps the whole time and not only because there were some cold places but wow… The pictures, the ruined firetrucks, the sounds of the people who were in the building at that time.. Unbelievable! I will everybody advice to have a visit over there when they are in New York…
After that heavy trip we went to Brooklyn. We just wanted to have a nice walk and see a bit of the village. We went with the subway and arrived at Brooklyn Heights and the boulevard were you can see the skyline of Manhattan. Really nice and a long boulevard with a lot of places to have a sit. And by the way, the whole weekend we had the best weather! It was around 25°C every day.

The Saturday and Sunday I spent with my mom and her boyfriend. We started Saturday in a really nice Bagel lunchroom with looovely bagels and cream cheese’s!
Then we went with the subway to Chelsea. There we visit the Chelsea Market. It’s an old Oreo-cookie factory and they have now all kind of alternative food shops in it. Really nice! After we went to the High Line Park. A new park build on the rails of an old train track. That was so beautiful. Before we knew, we were already at the end. It’s a long and small park, with nice views over Chelsea, Manhattan.
After we went to Bryant Park to take a look at the Public Library and have a drink in the park. A lovely park to have a drink or snack. Amazing to take a seat in the park in the middle of Midtown…
In the evening we had a really nice diner in Hell’s Kitchen by ‘Empanada mama’. I went there already before with Pedro and Aleksandra and I loved it!

Sunday morning we went to a very nice typical American diner. I was having very nice pancakes with banana and chocolate chunks, yummy!!
Later we took the subway to Brooklyn. There would be a nice Sunday flea market in Williamsburg. It was very hot that day and after the market we went to the park at the water with view over Manhattan. Such a nice summer feeling if you are sitting there, enjoying the view and listening to some musicians.
Later the day we didn’t do much because I got some really bad stomach pain. So badly that I couldn’t do anything more. So we just went back to the apartment to lay down a bit. Later it was already a bit better and my mum and friend decided to join me with my train trip to Hastings-on-Hudson! So nice! They were very curious how it would be there and of course to see were I’m living. My mum never went to the USA before so she was really surprised that already 15 minutes further of Manhattan, that there are so much quit and peaceful town’s in here. Nice that they had some time to see Hastings as well. They met Pedro and the girls and the girls were sooo exciting! They showed them every single place in the house haha.
What a wonderful weekend!!

And now time goes very very fast… We already begin to feel that there will be 1 point that we have to say goodbye to each other. Aleksandra spoke with me 1 morning about it and there began a tear to roll down by the both of us. Wow, I never thought that I would feel this by their family. But I feel like a part of it and they are all of them in my heart, that’s for sure! We are making jokes about their ‘3rd daughter’ ;).

We had nice last 2 weeks with a lot of activities like going to the outside playground, the library, grocery shopping, skype meeting with Marloes, they’ve got a nice surprise-box from their grandparents in Macedonia. With sweets and clothes. Aleksandra went away to the Netherlands and Italy for work.
We did support Holland with the World Championsship soccer! So we were all into the orange.. (And they won! Yeey!)
They surprised me with a nice diner in ‘The Cheesecake factory’ because I’m in love with cheesecakes. So we had an appetizer, shared a oreo cheesecake and took 2 cheesecakes home, yummy! They gave me a very very nice New York 365 days book. With a lot of pictures and history about New York, written by a writer from the New York Times.

Now my last week is almost starting. This night some friends of Aleksandra and Pedro will come over with their kids and Monday evening Marloes is already coming! I’m unhappy if I think that it’s almost done this adventure but I’m so so so happy that I took this chance!
With Marloes I have a very nice activity on the program for Wedsnesday evening. We will go to Mamma Mia on Broadway!

I will fly back on Saturday and I will arrive at Schiphol, Sunday morning. My first day at the Nijlandlaan will be Thursday 26th. I cannot wait to see everyone!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ashley

Hallo, Via deze blog wil ik jullie op de hoogte houden van mijn belevenissen in the USA. Ik wil gaan proberen deze in het engels te gaan schrijven zodat ik mijn engels wat kan gaan verbeteren én zodat alle internationale ouders ook op de hoogte kunnen blijven ;). Groetjes Ashley Hello, In this way i would like to keep you updated about my adventures in the USA. I want to try to write this in english so i can develop my english. And it's a good way to inform all the international parents ;). Greetings Ashley

Actief sinds 25 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 116
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3422

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2014 - 21 Juni 2014

Living in the usa

Landen bezocht: