Mothersday - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu Mothersday - Reisverslag uit Hastings-on-Hudson, Verenigde Staten van Ashley Heuvel - WaarBenJij.nu

Mothersday

Door: Ashley

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ashley

12 Mei 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Hastings-on-Hudson

We are really busy for Mothersday. I cannot write to much about it, because mommy is reading this blog as well ;). But we were very creative, but a very nice present and are thinking what to do on the Sunday itself.
Isabel cannot wait for the day and it’s a good thing that we made the calendar. So she can check every moment how long it will take for that day.
I’m using sometimes the word ‘special’. To let them know that not everything is just ‘normal’. But now every time that I’m using the word ‘special’. She is like: Jaaa speciaal! Voor moederdag!! So everything that I call ‘special’ has to be for something like a party, like Mothersday. So you can imagine we are laughing a lot… ;)

On Tuesday we had a skype-meeting with Marloes. Marloes is an old-colleague of mine from the Nijlandlaan and she will come to be an au-pair after me. I’ll try to explain the girls already how that will happen and that the change is coming. So it was really nice for the girls to see her for the first time! (Isabel cannot remember her anymore, I guess it was too short that she saw Marloes at the Elmo group).
In the beginning they were both very quit but at the time I wanted to show Marloes the whole house with the laptop, Isabel was very excited. She was running around and screaming to Marloes which room was for who. Angela was still quit but she seemed to be oke with everything we did. Marloes told me in the end that she was very happy to had this meeting, it gave her a better impression of everything and also about the girls. So that’s something we can do another time as well!

This week the girls were getting a nice surprise! Aleksandra saved a lot of points by a certain system from her company, and she could choose from a lot of things. She chooses a really nice Doll’s house! So Friday night Pedro and me were building up the house, well.. Pedro did more. I was too busy with looking at all those really cute little furniture for in the doll house. I loved it! It made me feel like I was a little girl..
Pedro was laughing because I was helping him to choose the best spot for the house, and I was really thinking like a little girl how to play the best with ;). The next morning Aleksandra en Pedro told me, they were so surprised!! And when I came up, they played and played and played. They were so happy!

In the weekend Aleksandra en Pedro visit some houses. Because the house we are staying now is temporary. The girls were only playing with the doll-house. They had a little time to help me with the Mothersday cake, but after they ran back immediately to the doll-house ;). And it’s so big, that if Angela is standing on a little stool she can still not reach the highest level… “Schot in de roos” we would call it in Dutch words.

Then finally it became Mothersday! We put their lovely self-made flags around the lights, they gave their nice card and photoframe with lovely picture of them and they sang a nice new song that I taught them (the cuppycake song). In the afternoon we went to Lower Manhattan to have a look at Lady Liberty. The girls are talking such a lot about it, so now they should finally see it! Pedro was having a very bad allergic reaction on the grass, so we decided not to go on Liberty Island. Instead of that we took the Staten Island Ferry, a ferry that is coming near by the Statue. The girls loved it and they had fun together. After our nice activity we went to look for some nice place to have diner. We were just walking around Financial District and saw a really nice street with a lot of restaurants. We had the feeling that this was a kind of area were a lot of locals are coming. It was having a really nice feeling around there!

So I just finished the half of my USA journey! It’s going sooo fast, and like I would sing in The Netherlands: “En ik wil nog niet naar huis, nog lange niet, nog lange niet!” ;)


  • 14 Mei 2014 - 21:46

    Sophie:

    Hallo Ashley, many greetings from Sophie! She mentiones you every single day and when she sees a plane, she says :'Ashley, America!!' Greetings from Veldhoven....

  • 14 Mei 2014 - 22:38

    Ashley Van Den Heuvel:

    Heeee! I'm really smiling by now! So sweet!! I cannot wait to see them all again!! Thank you so much, greetings back!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ashley

Hallo, Via deze blog wil ik jullie op de hoogte houden van mijn belevenissen in the USA. Ik wil gaan proberen deze in het engels te gaan schrijven zodat ik mijn engels wat kan gaan verbeteren én zodat alle internationale ouders ook op de hoogte kunnen blijven ;). Groetjes Ashley Hello, In this way i would like to keep you updated about my adventures in the USA. I want to try to write this in english so i can develop my english. And it's a good way to inform all the international parents ;). Greetings Ashley

Actief sinds 25 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 161
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3425

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2014 - 21 Juni 2014

Living in the usa

Landen bezocht: